Eyo Festival Order of grand procession and parade

Eyo Festival Order of grand procession and parade

By Niyi Tabiti– The Eyo Adamu Orisha Play in Lagos is usually done in memory of a departed King of Lagos or very import title holder in Lagos Island.The first Eyo Festival show was in honour of Chief Dosunmu Asoason on 16th September 1852.The next Eyo play was done in 1854 in honour of Oba Akintoye,followed by that of Iya Oba Docemo and Oluri Elunromi Ijabo (Father of Thomas Kiyami) in 1875 and 1880 respectively. The 2017 Eyo Festival is in honour of Late Oba Elegushi, the father of the present Oba Saheed Elegushi.

Eyo Adimu

Here is the order of procession and parade of the different Eyo Houses in Lagos. The Eyo usually parade according to their level of importance.


By 5.00 am- Some members of the Eyo Adminu converge at Imoku for burial rites


6.00 a.m – The Adminu (or orisha Oko) leaves Awe Adimu and appears in public accompanied by the Eyo Adimu


The usual thing is for them to proceed to the shrine of Elegba Opopo at Abegede and thence to the Agodo (or Para) at Iga Idunganran (the official residence of the Oba of Lagos) and thence to Imoku (where the symbolic corpse is laid in state) at Lagos City Mall, Catholic Mission Street, Lagos)

That same morning at 6, the Eyo  Alaketepupa leaves their iga  and appear in public .They go first to Agodo, and thence to the Imoku.

Then the various Eyo groups now come out to parade the streets of Lagos Island. Durning the parades, they visit the homes of prominent Lagosians. Unlike before when the grand parade always take place at Idunmota, all Eyo now move to Tafawa Balewa Square for the show.

In the afternoon, all Eyo are expected to show off their spectacular Iga,usually noted with colours. Then, the big five Eyo in Lagos will cap it with their grand appearance. First you will see Eyo Agere,Eyo Ologede,Eyo Oniko.

After Eyo Agere,Ologede and Oniko, the Eyo Alaketepupa will appear.All other Eyo must be cleared from the stand to give way and respect to the Eyo Alaketepupa.

Once Alaketepupa leaves, the Eyo Adimu Group will come to parade.No other Eyo must be seen around them.No photograph must be taken.Once they leave, theu proceed to Agodo for the final ceremonies marking the end of the day’s performance.

Here are some of the Eyo

Group A

Eyo Oluwa,Jakande,OlokunOjon,Onitola,Ajanaku,Suenu,Asogbon,Faji,Obanikoro,Saba,Onisiwo,Olusi also known as Gbobaniyi,Salawe,Oshodi Buku,Omosan,Arobasade,Elegushi,Eletu Ijebu, Bashua,Onilado,Ologun-Ide,Ajiwe-Forisa,Awise and Opeoluwa.

Group B

Eyo Onimole,Aromire,Ojora,Ogunmade,Onitano,Kakawa,Sogunro,Akogun-Olofin,Onilegbale,Aiye Omosan,Eletu Odibo,Eletu Iwase,Oniru,Onisemo,Modile,Ologun-Agbele,Egbe,Balogun Okolo,Ashesi

Group C

Eyo Kosoko,Etti,Eyo Oshodi,Taiwo Olowo,Akitoye,Apena,Fancy,Bajulaiye,Olumegbon,Shaasi,Ajagun

Group D

Eyo Omoloku (Oba of Lagos at anytime),Eyo Agere,Eyo Ologede and Eyo Oniko

After group D

Eyo Alaketepupa comes out.

After Alaketepupa, the Eyo Adimu will come out.

See photos I took at the Eyo Festival 2009


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.